Library Board

LPLS is a governmental non-profit agency [509(a)(3), Type I] funded by Rutherford County and the Cities of Eagleville, Murfreesboro and Smyrna. All employees are governed by the Library Board and are not part of any city or county government.

Seated (L to R): Kari Sostrom, Marilyn Castelli (Treasurer), Christie Lee (Chair), Gary Green (Vice-Chair), Suma Clark (Secretary), Marcie Richmond. Standing (L to R): BettyJo Jarvis (Stones River Regional Library), Rita Shacklett (Director), Ross Spielman, Lyn Graves, Andy Rubin, Tim Bowling, Dicken Kidwell, Carol Ghattas (Linebaugh Branch Librarian), Tina Norris (Smyrna Branch Librarian). NOT PICTURED: Board members Lisa Trail and Madelyn Scales Harris and MGL Branch Supervisor Jerome Azbell.
Library Board:

The Board of Directors of Linebaugh Public Library consists of fourteen (14) members, seven (7) of whom are appointed by the City Council of Murfreesboro and seven (7) of whom are appointed by the County Commission of Rutherford County. The members shall serve without salary for a three (3) year term and no more three (3) successive terms.

County Board

Nell Blankenship
Marilyn Castelli, Treasurer
Suma Clark, Secretary
Daniel Lyn Graves II
Christie Lee, Chair
Kari Sostrom
Lisa Trail

City Board

Gary Green, Vice-Chair
Madelyn Scales Harris
Marcie Richmond
Timothy Bowling
Dicken Kidwell
Andy Rubin
Ross Spielman


The Board of Directors typically meets on the third Monday of each month at 5 p.m. with the exception of January and February when they meet on the third Tuesday due to the holiday schedule. Meetings are generally held in the Board Room on the 2nd Floor.

Please refer to the listing below for dates and locations.

Tuesday, January 20(Linebaugh)
Tuesday, February 17(Linebaugh)
Monday, March 16(Linebaugh)
Monday, April 20(Linebaugh)
Monday, May 18(Smyrna)
Monday, June 15(Linebaugh)
Monday, July 20(Linebaugh)
Monday, August 17 (Linebaugh)
Monday, September 21(Linebaugh)
Monday, October 19(Linebaugh)
Monday, November 16 at 4:30 p.m. (Smyrna) [Annual Board Retreat]
Monday, December 21 (Linebaugh)


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: